Skip to main content

Foundation Year

The Foundation Year is the systematic and accompanied entry into the medical profession after the conclusion of the BM (EU) medical study program at the KSM. It is based on realisation in Great Britain, carried out here in Germany in the hospitals of Gesundheit Nordhessen. The program is monitored by the Wessex Foundation School (WFS) and regularly audited and certified by the General Medical Council (GMC) to strict quality standards.

Gesundheit Nordhessen is proud to be the only certified non-UK training location for the Foundation Year 1 (F1). On request and with good knowledge of German, graduates of British universities can also complete their F1 in Gesundheit Nordhessen.

As in the UK, KSM students receive a so-called "provisional registration" by the GMC following successful completion of their studies, which corresponds to a provisional license in Germany. With the successful completion of the F1, the young doctors receive the "full registration" of the GMC. Upon application, this will be recognised as full practice in Germany, which is accompanied by an unlimited professional license. After the F1, the German, European and British labour markets are open to doctors, as are many Commonwealth countries who recognise this degree.

The Foundation Year 2 (F2), which is compulsory in the UK, is not required for doctors who have completed the F1 in the GNH and is not offered here accordingly. Anyone who wants to do their specialist training in the UK has to apply after the F1 with us for a F2 place in the UK. With respect to subject matter, the F1 in Gesundheit Nordhessen focuses on the introduction to medical work under supervised conditions and all aspects of patient safety.

The course of the F1 is meaningfully structured in the interest of career entry:

  • It starts each year on 1st August and ends on 31st July of the following year,

  • Before the start, a so-called "Shadowing Period" takes place in the last week of July, in which the doctors follow in the first "placement" department and are informed in detail about organisational matters, without them becoming active themselves.

  • During the year, they work for six months in two different departments ("placements") in hospitals of Gesundheit Nordhessen, often in two different clinics,

  • The "placements" should consciously belong to different areas of medicine to offer a wide range of first medical work (for example trauma surgery and psychiatry or paediatrics and anaesthesia including combinations),

  • In each department there is a "Clinical Supervisor" (CS) for the everyday things and questions, and for the entire F1 there is an "Educational Supervisor" (ES) to discuss the educational goals for the year and keep an eye on their achievement,

  • In the "Teaching Program" (TP) every 4 weeks there is a complete lesson day on medical meta-themes (e.g. ethics, life support, microbiology, radiology, quality management, DRG-system, etc.), furthermore a two-day Advanced Life Support (ALS) course is compulsory shortly after the start of the F1,

  • During the year, supervised learning events (SLEs) take place on a regular basis in clinics, during which physicians demonstrate patient interactions and skills and receive feedback for improvement,

  • In addition to these training aspects, F1 is of course primarily about clinical work on the ward, in the operating theatre, in the emergency room or elsewhere,

  • After training, participation in the service provision is planned in the areas in which at least one additional medical person of the same subject is present in the building during office hours.

Contact

Dr. med. Klaus Weber

Chefarzt

Dr. med. Klaus Weber

Chefarzt

Amelie Becher

Lead Administration

Amelie Becher

Lead Administration

Funda Bösel

Foundation Year Koordinatorin

Funda Bösel

Foundation Year Koordinatorin

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Foundation Year

Das Foundation Year ist der systematische und begleitete Einstieg in die ärztliche Tätigkeit nach dem Abschluss des BM(EU) Medizinstudienprogramms an der KSM. Es wird angelehnt an die Umsetzung in Großbritannien hier in Deutschland in den Krankenhäusern der Gesundheit Nordhessen durchgeführt. Das Programm wird durch die Wessex Foundation School (WFS) überwacht und regelmäßig durch den General Medical Council (GMC) nach strengen Qualitätsmaßstäben auditiert und zertifiziert. 

Die Gesundheit Nordhessen ist stolz darauf, der derzeit einzige zertifizierte außerbritische Ausbildungsort für das Foundation Year 1 (F1) zu sein. Auf Anfrage und bei guten Deutschkenntnissen können auch Absolventinnen britischer Universitäten ihr F1 in der Gesundheit Nordhessen absolvieren. 

Wie in UK erhalten die Studierenden der KSM nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des Studiums eine sogenannte „provisional registration“ durch das GMC, die einer vorläufigen Approbation in Deutschland entspricht. Durch den erfolgreichen Abschluss des F1 erhalten die jungen Ärztinnen und Ärzte die „full registration“ des GMC. Auf Antrag wird diese in Deutschland als Vollapprobation anerkannt, die mit unbefristeter Berufserlaubnis einhergeht. Nach dem F1 stehen den Ärztinnen und Ärzten der deutsche, europäische und britische Arbeitsmarkt offen, sowie viele Länder des Commonwealth, die diesen Abschluss anerkennen. 

Das in Großbritannien obligatorische Foundation Year 2 (F2) ist für Ärztinnen und Ärzte, die in der GNH das F1 absolviert haben nicht erforderlich und wird hier entsprechend nicht angeboten. Wer die Facharztausbildung in Großbritannien machen möchte muss sich nach dem F1 sich bei uns auf einen F2-Platz in UK bewerben. Inhaltlich fokussiert das F1 in der Gesundheit Nordhessen auf die Einführung in die ärztliche Arbeit unter supervidierten Bedingungen auf jegliche Aspekte von Patientensicherheit. 

Der Ablauf des F1 ist sinnvoll für die Belange eines Berufseinstiegs strukturiert: 

  • es startet in jedem Jahr am 1.August und endet am 31. Juli des folgenden Jahres, 
  • vor dem Start findet in der letzten Juliwoche eine sogenannte „Shadowing Period“ statt, in der die Ärztinnen und Ärzte in der ersten „Placement“-Abteilung mitlaufen und eingehend über organisatorische Dinge informiert werden, ohne dass sie selbst aktiv werden, 
  • sie arbeiten während des Jahres jeweils für sechs Monate in zwei unterschiedlichen Abteilungen („Placements“) in Krankenhäusern der Gesundheit Nordhessen, häufig auch in zwei unterschiedlichen Kliniken, 
  • die „Placements“ sollen bewusst zu unterschiedlichen Bereichen der Medizin gehören, um ein breites Spektrum für die erste ärztliche Tätigkeit zu bieten (z.B. Unfallchirurgie und Psychiatrie oder Pädiatrie und Anästhesie u.v.a. Kombinationen), 
  • in jeder Abteilung gibt es eine/n „Clinical Supervisor“ (CS) für die alltäglichen Dinge und Fragen, sowie übergeordnet für das gesamte F1 eine/n „Educational Supervisor“ (ES), um die Ausbildungsziele für das Jahr abzusprechen und deren Erreichung im Auge zu behalten, 
  • im „Teaching Programme“ (TP) findet alle 4 Wochen ein patientenferner kompletter Unterrichtstag zu ärztlichen Metathemen statt (z.B. Ethik, Sterbebegleitung, Mikrobiologie, Radiologie, Qualitätsmanagement, DRG-System u.v.a.), zudem ist ein zweitägiger Advanced Life Support (ALS) Kurs kurz nach Start des F1 obligatorisch, 
  • während des Jahres finden regelmäßig „Supervised Learning Events“ (SLEs) im klinischen Alltag statt, in denen die Ärztinnen und Ärzte Patienteninteraktionen und Fertigkeiten demonstrieren und Feedback für Verbesserungen erhalten, 
  • neben diesen Ausbildungsaspekten geht es im F1 selbstverständlich vor allem um klinische Arbeit auf Station, im OP, in der Notaufnahme oder anderswo, 
  • nach Einarbeitung ist eine Teilnahme am Dienstgeschehen in den Bereichen vorgesehen, in denen noch mindestens eine weiter ärztliche Person des gleichen Fachs zu Dienstzeiten im Haus anwesend ist.

Kontakt

Dr. med. Klaus Weber

Chefarzt

Dr. med. Klaus Weber

Chefarzt

Amelie Becher

Lead Administration

Amelie Becher

Lead Administration

Funda Bösel

Foundation Year Koordinatorin

Funda Bösel

Foundation Year Koordinatorin